jana banana

May 1, 2007

New words

Filed under: carmen, knitting, mess of the day, projects — Jana @ 9:37 pm

Carmen is in a constant state of learning. It seems as though she picks up new stuff every day. Some of it sticks more than others. On Sunday while getting ready to get in the shower I took off Carmen’s diaper and left her standing on the rug right outside the shower. Usually she just steps in but in the time it took me to turn around to set her diaper down, she started to pee on the rug. All I said to her was “Uh-Oh Carmen”. And she responded back to me with a loud “Uh-Oh”. Well that’s all it took. At church she walked a few rows behind ours and dumped out her package of markers on the floor. “Uh-Oh”. Yesterday she climbed up on the fireplace bench and got scared. “Uh-oh”. Today she shook her package of teddy grahams and sprayed tiny teddy bears all over the kitchen. “Uh-Oh”. And with a few hundred “Uh-Ohs” in between a new favorite word is born. At least it is better than her old one “Nuh, No, No”.

It is so weird being an adult. My mind set is so different than when I was a kid. I remember doing the bare minimum of all my chores and such because I knew there would be someone else to do it (sorry mom). But now if I see a weird scuff on the wall, or a bug or something I just can’t leave it for someone else to take care of, I am pretty much the only “someone” around for the most part, so if I don’t do it now I know I am going to have to do it later. Man, growing up is hard :). I kind of agree with they saying youth is wasted on the young. I think of Carmen and I laugh because pretty much her favorite thing to do is follow me around the house and destroy whatever it is that I just picked up, cleaned up, or hung up. She loves emptying out all my cupboards and drawers. She love pulling shirts off hangers…moments after I put them on the hangers. Ripping paper into a million pieces, loves it.
I set two laundry baskets at the bottom of the stairs and ran up to get another one…when I looked downstairs a few moments later I saw this.
Picture
She is my little destruct-o-baby.

But that is the only time in your life that you can do that stuff, with no repercussions. I guess if you were rich you could do that stuff too and just hire someone to clean it up.

Anyway as the last part of my most random and scatterbrained blog post yet, I thought I would share with you all the treat I bought myself at the book store.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I am getting in pretty deep into this knitting thing. I have a feeling it is going to become an expensive hobby, although… no more expensive than golf.

2 Comments »

  1. I couldn’t help but chuckle about Carmen-the-destructo. I know exactly what you mean. If I couldn’t laugh about my own “helpers”, I would probably cry.

    Comment by Melinda — May 2, 2007 @ 1:38 pm

  2. I love how Carmen ripped everything to bits and moved on in 2 seconds. I also love how Tiger is her little sidekick, even through the destruction.

    Comment by happygoshoppy — May 4, 2007 @ 11:47 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

