jana banana

March 11, 2012

kauai

Filed under: carmen, family, Lee, me, moseley — Jana @ 6:59 pm

 

We had a really great time in Kauai last week.  My favorite part would have to be the shave ice, I am a little obsessed and we ate them every day.  We also got to lay on many white sand beaches.  I love the sand in Hawaii.  Here the sand is black and dirty and pretty much cannot be shaken off ever.  In Hawaii it is like the texture of graham cracker crumbs and just falls right off of everything.  Makes you almost want to take a big bite… almost. ;) Kauai is so green and beautiful.  I loved the scenery and every time I would get an awesome view, I would just think “It would be impossible to stay mad in a place like this”.

There were so many chickens and roosters, that love to come cock-a-doodle-do right outside your window in the middle of the night.  Luckily you get used to it after a few nights.  But they were like pigeons or something, just everywhere.

I got a bad bout of bronchitis that wiped out my voice for most of the week, which made it hard to catch up with old friends when your voice sounds like a 60 year old smoker with emphysema.  Luckily all I had to do was lay on beaches, because I would have had a hard time teaching a zumba class like that.  I had a great time catching up with our college friends.  Kat and Mikey let us stay at their huge beautiful home, and it was really awesome.

It rains every day in Kauai, but we still got plenty of sun.  And don’t think I left Hawaii without getting a spam, egg, and Portuguese sausage breakfast.  Apparently my kids “do not like SPAN!”  Ha ha, can’t say I blame them.  That stuff has a weird texture.

One day we took a nice long bike ride up this trail along the beach to this beautiful secluded beach called Donkey beach.  The guys went nuts trying to do tricks of the sand shelf that had formed, and it was hilarious to watch.  Carmen couldn’t quite make it back to town on her bike, so her loving daddy put her on his handlebars and carried her bike as he rode, all the way back to the bike rental shop.  He is the best.  Speaking of him being the best… Have I mentioned lately how awesome my husband is?  He is.  He would wake up early to get the kids breakfast so I could bask in bed reading and sleeping while the sea air wafted in my widows?  He also would also take the kids down the beach and play with them while I sunbathed.  He would put them to bed at night.  He would find me shave ice whenever I needed it.  I just love that guy.  How did I get so lucky?

Sorry my pics aren’t synced up with my story, but man that would just take way more effort than I am willing to put in.

 

2 Comments »

  1. so glad you had such a great time.

    Comment by Tami — March 11, 2012 @ 9:04 pm

  2. That’s nice about Lee. I’m glad you had such a good time, too.

    Comment by Eve — March 12, 2012 @ 4:55 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

